wedding recap

This is a post I wrote four months after I got married on my old blog, but I love it so much that I’m re-posting it here.  I got married on September 13, 2014, to my best friend.  It’s such a special day and I’m glad I have a way to remember it 🙂

I spent the night before at a hotel with three of my best girlfriends, one who had flown in from Alberta especially for the wedding.  We had an early night, knowing we had to be rested for the day ahead.  The wedding wasn’t until four that afternoon, so we went out to Starbucks when we woke up and also brought breakfast up to the hotel room, where we all started the getting ready process.

 

 

Hubby’s mom and sister came to the hotel room to get ready with us, they had their hair done and hung out for a bit.  My friend had brought some champagne and orange juice so we could have mimosa’s while we were getting all dolled up – a nice touch, I might add!

My hubby-to-be sent his father to deliver some beautiful flowers and some chocolates ❤

Our photographer came and took some photos of the dress and of us getting all dolled up, and my family also came for a few photos in the hotel room.  My mom helped me get into my dress, and it was fun to capture my dad and brother’s reactions to seeing me for the first time looking like a bride.

 

 

My mom had roped her neighbour into driving me to the wedding ceremony, which was kind of funny since the venue was only a few blocks away from the hotel.  Really though, I couldn’t have walked in my big dress 😉

We arrived at the venue and I had to stay back in a hidden room as they weren’t ready to start.  I remember pacing back and forth, I don’t remember being too nervous, just anxious for it all to start!  Thankfully I was able to distract myself with the adorable flower girl (my MOH’s little girl).

Finally it was time to start!  It was the perfect ceremony, I managed to make it all the way down the aisle with my dad without tripping – no small feat in my world! I walked down the aisle to Pachebel’s Cannon, it’s the song I always wanted when I walked down the aisle.  I nearly started crying when I saw my betrothed shed a few tears, but I kept it together (my voice did shake a little).  The ceremony is a blur, it seemed to go by so fast.  We did the vows, had a reading, and even a little tree planting ceremony.  My brother rocked it out on the keyboard – he ended the whole thing with the song You Make My Dreams Come True by Hall and Oates.

 

 

 

My hubby’s one request of the photographer was to get a picture of all the people attending our wedding, so we did that right after the ceremony had ended.  I’m so glad we did this, it is hands down my favourite picture from the whole day.

We went to get some pictures done a few blocks away from the venue, which was a lot of fun and once again didn’t take too long. We came back and they weren’t quite ready for us so we had to wait outside the building, it was a little chilly so hubby lent me his jacket 😉

 

 

Dinner was delicious, and the speeches were fantastic.  The only thing I wanted was for my wedding to be FUN, and I think we accomplished that.  I remember laughing a lot.

Our first dance was by Elvis Presley, and it was beautiful.  We had our dance outside on the deck, there were little lights everywhere, and I remember thinking it looked magical.  After our first dances bride and groom, we split up and had a dance for the father/daughter and mother/son.  I chose Bridge over Troubled Water for this dance, it’s a song that always had great meaning for me and my dad.

 

 

Photography by Philip Currie

All in all, it was absolutely the most perfect day, I married my soul mate, and I can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with him ❤

Leave a comment