The Journey Continues

So it has been one week since we departed from Prince Edward Island on this cross-country adventure, and I have to admit, I’m getting a little tired of being on the road.  People would jokingly ask if my husband and I would even like each other after spending eight days cooped up in a car together, and I would just like to say that yes, I still like him ;).   I think we travel really well together.  I’m just a little tired of the whole sitting-in-a-car-for-eight-hours-a-day thing.  Thankfully, we just have two days left!

We are spending tonight in Winnipeg.  Tomorrow we drive to Regina, where we will get a chance to see my dad (he works there for every two out of three weeks), and on Friday we will arrive in High River.  It will be so nice to be home.  To be honest, when I moved from Alberta to New Brunswick nearly ten years ago, I didn’t think that I would ever be moving back out West.  But things change, and after getting married, getting my education degree, and planning our future, we decided that there are more opportunities out west than there are in the Maritimes.  So while I’m broken-hearted about all the friends and family that I am leaving behind, I know that there will be new friends to make as well as old friends and family to reconnect with.

We had a wonderful stay in Thunder Bay.  Our hosts, Chris and Jayden, were very friendly and accommodating, and we stayed in a cute little bedroom with it’s own little balcony.  We went for a nice long walk in downtown Thunder Bay, and returned back to the house to watch the latest episode of Fear the Walking Dead.  We were going to watch it on my little laptop, but Chris said he already had it on a USB stick and we could watch it on the bigger TV.  He had seen the episode already but he watched it again with us.

We left around 9:30 this morning, with plans to arrive in Winnipeg between 6 and 7pm.  However, we once again forgot about the time change and so we had a bit of time to kill since we gained an hour that we hadn’t planned for.  We stopped for lunch in a town called Dryden, in Ontario.  We were told we just had to try the Bannock Shack, a little restaurant that had been featured on the TV show You Gotta Eat Here!  We had cheesy potato patty Bannock burgers and soup, which was the special of the day.  It was quite good, though pretty greasy.

After another couple of hours on the road, we stopped in the quaint town of Kenora.  We took thirty minutes or so to walk around the boardwalk and up Main street.


We arrived in Winnipeg and met our host for the night.  If you follow me on Snapchat I shared a little tour of our room here.  It’s a beautiful space and once again everyone is so friendly.  It’s raining pretty hard out right now but we might take a drive to see a bit more of the city.

Today’s song of the day is a song that makes me extremely happy.  There’s just something about the tune that makes me want to smile.  It is by Paolo Nutini and it’s called Pencil Full of Lead.  Let me know what you think!

More to come tomorrow!  Have a great night! xx

Leave a Reply

