my current favourite salad

Happy Saturday!  And happy (belated) Canada Day.  I hope all you Canadian friends had a great day celebrating Canada’s birthday 🙂  We had a pretty quiet day, my husband works nights, which means he sleeps all day.  I could hear the music and festivities from the local park but I’m too shy and awkward to go alone, so I waited until Rick woke up and we went together around 3pm.  He had to work at night so we didn’t watch any fireworks either.  Ah well.

Before I share with you my favourite salad, I wanted to share a quote that came up on my 5 Minute Journal app.  I love this app, it was created by Alex and Mimi Ikonn, a married couple who I’ve been watching on youtube for a few years now.  The app is great, it really only takes five minutes in the morning and again at night, and I find I’m definitely feeling more mindful as I use it.  Plus it has really great quotes.  You can find more about it here.  You can purchase a hard copy, but I opted for the digital version because I knew I’d be more likely to use it.

IMG_3015

Isn’t that a great quote?  I know there are so many days where I go to bed feeling dejected because I didn’t accomplish what I wanted to, but maybe it’s because I need to adjust my mindset in the morning.  Gotta find that determination when I roll out of bed.


Anyway.  On to my salad.  This is a simple one to make, and there are a ton of variations out there – I know that I have had similar salads at different restaurants throughout the years.  I keep it quite simple, with only a few ingredients, but you could add whatever your heart desires.  I call this the berry-almond-goat cheese deliciousness.

In my salad, I use spinach, or whatever greens we have on hand (pictured is a spring mix from Sobey’s), blueberries, onion, goat cheese, and almonds.  Dressing is the Kraft Balsamic Fig salad dressing.  So. Effing.  Good.  I seriously can’t get enough.  I’ve eaten it every day this week for lunch, and haven’t gotten sick of it yet – and I’m the type that typically can’t eat something two days in a row.  I’ve been eating quite well this week in general, and can’t wait for my weigh-in on Wednesday.

It may not be the absolute healthiest salad out there, but hey, it’s salad.  And I love it.  You will too, trust me.

You’re welcome 😉

Leave a Reply

