Weighing In

lose-weight-scale-cropped

I think that almost everyone has wanted to shed a few pounds at some time during their lifetime, and I am no exception.  Now that I have moved to a new province, I need to start working on changing my lifestyle.  I’ve wanted to lose weight since I was a teenager, and I did it once pretty successfully – losing about 30 lbs on Weight Watchers back in 2008.  Like most diets, when I quit, I gained the weight back, and then some.

Back in 2008, I wanted to lose weight to look good.  I was in my early twenties and I wanted to feel hot.  Now, although it definitely would be nice to look better, there are so many other reasons to lose weight.

I have some health issues that are coming up due to my weight gain, and it would be nice to get rid of those.  Things such as sore knees and ankles, swelling legs, acid reflux and also low energy levels.  I also want to conceive within the next few years, so that’s a motivator as well.  I have PCOS (Poly-cystic ovarian syndrome) which means that I’m going to have to work extra hard to lose weight.  But it’s not impossible.

I started this year (January 2016) at my highest ever weight, and I’ve decided this is the year I need to change.  I have a lot of weight to lose – over one hundred pounds just to get myself into the healthy BMI range.  I haven’t lost much weight since then, about 10 lbs, but now I need to commit and actually change my ways.

The plan:  During this month, I plan to hit 10 000 steps each day, and do some light calisthenics each day as well.  I will eat 5 to 6 small meals a day, consisting primarily of fruit, veggies, and protein.  I’ll weigh in each week to monitor progress.  I know that I’ve started so many diets in the past and failed them, but this time I need to do it.  I turn thirty next year, I’ve had enough.

Let’s do this!

 

Leave a comment